@crisdresch

about online marketing

My Media Consumption

with 3 comments

I’m sure we’ve all been overwhelmed with information in the last years. Specially for us, who always need to keep updated with the latest information. One day without looking at the news, and we might have missed big time.

Have you ever thought about all the different medias we consume a day?

My day usually happens like this…

  • TV during breakfast. (Yes, you read that right, T-V. I still can’t live without it)
  • Mobile on the bus. (Mainly catching up with emails and Facebook)
  • RSS feed on the tube. (Tip – If you open your RSS when you have internet connection, you can still read everything it has downloaded when you don’t have connection anymore)
  • Web. (That happens for about 9 hours a day, at least)
  • Angry birds / Newspaper. (When I’m on the tube back home, I usually play angry birds on my phone. If I find a lost newspaper, I might read that too)
  • Mobile on the bus. (Mainly catching up with emails and Facebook)
  • Web and TV. (Usually, both at the same time)

So let’s say, I’m probably an average user according to my media consumption. I don’t own a kindle or an iPad. I mainly keep things between my mobile, my notebook (which I can say, is my best friend ♥) and my TV. And sure, it’s not unusual for me to use all three at the same.

Free VS Paid

I usually pay for things I have to. If I don’t, I won’t. I obviously pay for my internet connection, both at home and in my mobile. But other than that, I keep things free. I thought that since I’m young and don’t earn a lot of money, that would be the reason why. But not really. It’s more about personality, than anything else.

The news

First of all, what do we mean by news? Let’s break it down, so it makes more sense. It’s going to be interesting to look at this list in six months time, and see if my resources are still the same.

General News
Facebook (Social)
Twitter (Social + Industry)
Linkedin Today (Industry)
Digital industry & media news (B2B)
Google RSS +50 blogs (aggregator)
– Mashable
– Hubspot
– Social Media Explorer
– Social Times
– The next web
– All Facebook
– Chris Brogan
– Brian Solis
Entertainment (B2C)
Spotify
Youtube
Channel 4
Shopping (B2C)
H&M
Argos
Amazon
Ikea

Conclusion

This was more like a personal exercise than anything else. But I’d urge you to it, it will be interesting to look at it in 6 or 12 months time and see if any has changed (I bet it will). I’ll leave you with a quote, presented to us in class by our professor Tim Tucker:

‘Good technologies don’t eradicate earlier good technologies. They overlap with them—or morph, so that the old and the new may persist alongside yet another development. Think Post-its, printed books, PC’s, and iPads, all in the same office cubicle.’ William Germano, Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art

Written by Cristina Dresch

May 16, 2011 at 2:00 PM

Posted in Media

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. gostei! Tbem fazendo ….e comparando daqui a seis ou doze meses
    Para mim entra o radio..

    Legal..Todos deveriam ficar antenados e fazer este levantamento…
    bjs

    vel

    May 17, 2011 at 12:53 AM

  2. Hi Cris. You are a very busy consumer of information.

    Don’t forget to take a break sometimes :-).

    steve weil

    May 18, 2011 at 8:51 PM

    • It’s embarrassing to say, but I don’t really know what to do when I don’t have any of that around (apart from eating/sleeping)! I might have to work on meditation or something.

      By the way, glad to have you here Steve! No sure how you found this blog, sneaky as always :)

      Cristina Dresch

      May 18, 2011 at 9:03 PM


Leave a Reply

