@crisdresch

about online marketing

What’s Up With Social Media And Friends Recommendations?

with 3 comments

Ok. I get it. We trust friends with recommendations more than we trust brands or people we don’t know. That makes sense. But think about how social networks work nowadays. Do we know everyone we’re friends with? A research just came out this past week saying the average 22 year-old in England has over 1000 friends on Facebook. And now you tell me, do we really know everyone we’re friends with? I doubt it.

Google +1

Not long ago, Google launched Google +1 button. As Google itself describes, the button is a “shorthand for “this is pretty cool” or “you should check this out.” They said you just have to click on it to “publicly give something your stamp of approval. Your +1’s can help friends, contacts, and others on the web find the best stuff when they search.” So basically, it’s a recommendation button.

New Facebook page feature

Rumors this week started about a Facebook page recommendation tool, where friends can recommend friends about which pages to like. Yet again, we are trusting our so called friends with recommendations.

Enough with that

Stop to reflect about it. Would you care about what pages your little brother likes on Facebook? Do you really want to get a recommendation from your best friend’s mother? People have different interests, and that’s perfectly normal. I believe that Google +1 can easily become spam if not handled right. I’ve been using the Google+like extension in my browser (Chrome), and it’s been great. Not for the recommendation bit, where I should believe the content my friends have shared is more interesting (cause I don’t), but because this is great for research. I can see how many likes a link has had, which is great to understand the reach and popularity of online content.

What does the future hold?

Saying all that, I still think recommendation is a great opportunity in Social Media. I think it would be perfectly normal for me to get recommendations from my Twitter followers, and you know why is that? Because my Twitters followers are not exactly my friends, but people who share the same interests as me. I wouldn’t follow them if I didn’t care for what they had to say. Recommendations should be about the relationship you have with someone, it should be about sharing and caring for the same things.

Written by Cristina Dresch

May 26, 2011 at 10:00 AM

Posted in Facebook, Social, Statistics

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. agree totally. there is a very large difference between the high level statistic and the practice on the ground with social media tools.

    euan wilcox

    June 14, 2011 at 12:20 AM

    • Exactly! I believe that in the future we are going to start seeing these issues more clearly. Right now, social media is still something very new… I wonder until when will that be.

      Cristina Dresch

      June 14, 2011 at 12:23 AM

  2. […] Uma amiga escreveu sobre isso também, e como ela é do marketing digital eu acredito nela. O post dela: What’s up with social media and friends recommendation? […]


Leave a Reply

